Dear Councillor

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING

An extraordinary meeting of the Council will be held at the Council Offices, London Road, Saffron Walden, on Thursday 12 June 2003 at 7.45 pm, or at the conclusion of the question and answer session, whichever is the earlier.

Yours faithfully

ELIZABETH FORBES

Chief Executive

Commencing at 7.30 pm, there will be an opportunity of up to 15 minutes for members of the public to ask questions and make statements subject to having given two working days prior notice

A G E N D A PART I

- 1 Apologies for absence and declarations of interest.
- 2 Future Development of Air Transport in the UK (report to be circulated separately).
- 3 Best Value Performance Plan 2003/04.
- 4 Quality of Life Vision.
- 5 Notice of Motion.

To consider the following Notice of Motion proposed by Councillors A J Ketteridge and J F Cheetham.

"The Government has refused to consult the British people on proposals for a European constitution that has significant implications for the United Kingdom.

Uttlesford District Council therefore believes that it is in the interests of its residents to call upon the British Government to hold a referendum to enable the British people to have an opportunity to express a view on the implications of constitutional changes on the payer pance of our country and this District".

- 6 To consider questions under Council Procedure Rule 8.2.
 - (i) Question from Councillor S Flack to the Chairman of the Health and Housing Committee (written answer requested).

"The Government stated in May that it is unacceptable for homeless families to be accommodated in bed and breakfast accommodation for a period of more than six weeks due to the detrimental effects on children's health and development.

Could the Chairman of Health and Housing tell me how many families in Uttlesford were accommodated last year for over six weeks in bed and breakfast accommodation and what actions this Council is taking to ensure that this situation is remedied"

To: All Members of the Council

Lead Officer: Elizabeth Forbes Committee Officer: Mick Purkiss