Agenda and minutes

For information on public speaking arrangements at meetings of the Council, please click here

Venue: Council Chamber - Council Offices, London Road, Saffron Walden, CB11 4ER. View directions

Contact: Democratic Services  01799 510369

No. Item


Apologies for Absence and Declarations of Interest

To receive any apologies for absence and declarations of interest.


Councillors Fairhurst and Freeman declared non-pecuniary interests as members of Saffron Walden Town Council. Councillor Lemon declared a non-pecuniary interest as a member of Hatfield Heath Parish Council. 


Opening Statement


The Development Manager made an opening statement to the Committee. He said there had been a misunderstanding relating to the nature of planning performance agreements, which were standard practice in the planning industry. Officers had been accused of using these as ‘cash for favours’. This was offensive, as in no way had the application been fast tracked. The application had been assessed by a team of experts, including the statutory consultees, independent consultants and officers from East Hertfordshire District Council, Essex County Council (ECC), Hertfordshire County Council and Uttlesford District Council (UDC), who had worked in collaboration throughout the assessment. He said the integrity and professionalism of the officers could not be called into question.


The Solicitor clarified the situation regarding the request that had been made to the Secretary of State to call-in the application. She said it was normal procedure for the Secretary of State to consider the request of a call-in but it would not prevent Members determining the application which should be considered solely on its merits.  If Members did resolve to approve the application, the Secretary of State had asked that the decision notice not be issued until he had confirmed he was not calling-in the application.



UTT/18/0460/FUL - Stansted Airport pdf icon PDF 2 MB

To consider application UTT/18/0460/FUL.

Additional documents:


The Development Management Team Leader summarised the report for the Committee’s consideration.


The application related to the construction of a rapid access taxiway (RAT), a rapid exit taxiway (RET), and a total of nine additional stands over two locations. These additional facilities would enable the optimal use of the runway, improving efficiency during peak hours. The proposal also sought to uplift passenger numbers from the currently consented 35 million passengers per annum (mppa) to 43mppa. The application did not propose to increase the number of aircraft movements from the previously consented 274,000 per annum.


The conditions stated in the report were highlighted, including improvement works to associated junctions on the M11, noise mitigation measures and the Community Trust Fund. The amended recommendation and revised wording to the S106 agreement Heads of Terms was also outlined. Specifically, attention was drawn to the ‘sustainable transport levy’ which would be increased and could be used to fund alternative transport schemes.


The Development Management Team Leader said Members had been provided with a supplementary list of representations, which included issues arising from the public speaking sessions. She said no further issues had been raised which had not been addressed in the report.   


The Chairman invited public speakers to make their statements. The statements can be heard in full on the Uttlesford District Council website.


The following people spoke to the Committee:


Non-committee councillors


Councillor Alan Dean

Councillor Martin Foley

Councillor John Lodge

Councillor Neil Hargreaves (statement read by John Lodge)


Parish and Town Council representatives


Councillor Andy Bennett - Felsted Parish Council

Dr Graham Mott - Elsenham Parish Council

Councillor Neil Reeve - High Easter Parish Council

Councillor Peter Jones - Stansted Parish Council

Councillor Alex Armstrong - Dunmow Town Council

Councillor Jackie Kingdom     - Stebbing Parish Council

Councillor Tricia Barber - Takeley Parish Council




Robert Beer   

Brian Ross

Ray Woodcock

Sid Brand

Michael Young




Steve Heapy

David Rooke

Cassius Blanchard

Keith Perry

Karen Spencer




Ken O’ Toole


The meeting was adjourned at 12.30pm.


The meeting was reconvened at 1.15pm.



The Chairman said the report would now be broken down into the key aspects of the application and Members were invited to ask any questions of the officers who had been involved in the assessment process.


David Sprunt (ECC) gave a presentation on the proposed improvement works at Junction 8 of the M11. The estimated cost of the scheme was £10 million and would be funded through various sources. He said works were due to start in spring of 2019 and would last approximately 18 months.


In response to a Member question, Katherine Wilkinson (ECC) said future development in Uttlesford and East Hertfordshire, as well as this application, had been taken into account when analysing the applicant’s transport assessment.   An additional 10% uplift was also applied as a sensitivity test to ensure robustness and the forecasting had been extended to 2033. She said the proposed “interim-plus” scheme would mitigate the impact of the application, if approved.


Mary Young  ...  view the full minutes text for item 3.